Life of Pi

This book is about teenage boy shipwrecked, and had to share a lifeboat with a Bengal tiger for over 200 days.  I was as one reviewer put it, at the mercy of Martel’s great story-telling.  It took me less than a week, stealing some time here and there to read it.  It also helps now that I take the bus.  There’s a nice overview of it in the wikipedia .  I don’t think I have been so taken in by fiction accept maybe books by Tagore.  Yet some of his lines are Tagore like.  Nice to chew on for quite some time.  But of course no one can outdo Tagore’s phraseology.  I also like the way the story starts of in Pondicherry, Tamil Nadu.  That’s a place I visited last year and hopefully again in June.  I can just hear the vehicles honking away now, way into the night.

The situation (starvation, eating raw stuff; even tiger’s turd) on the boat reminds me off another excellent book I stumble upon in leafy Richmond, just by the Thames in a nice Waterstones bookstore more than 5 years ago.  Its called In the Heart of the Sea by Nathaniel Philbrick and more on it on PBS .  It must be one of the top 3 books I have read.   Anyone wants to borrow?

4 thoughts on “Life of Pi

  1. I love Life of Pi as well. I really liked the whole idea about how people only accept the what’s down-to-earth and “normal” even though it might be fake, and even though they prefer the more novel and interesting version of the story.

  2. Yeah, I loved the ending as well. I like the way there were 2 and that he personified the orang-utan as his mom… heart wrenching. But then again there were all those meerkat bones and other animal bones

  3. What I found significant about “Life of Pi” was the end part, where Pi was interviewed by the Japanese who were trying to ascertain the cause of the tanker wreck. It was then that the whole story took a different twist. I could then understand why the author took home the Man Booker prize. Really an excellent read.

Leave a Reply

