Safe in the pages of a book

Sebastian Faulks – I have read 2 of his books and absolutely love them.  He has a way with words that sits well in my mind, somewhat like the writings of Rabindranath Tagore.  Of course the comparison is really tenuous and demands more.

“Devil May Care” is a James Bond novel and I remembered more about the thorough descriptions of the meals eaten by the spy than the action itself.  Nonetheless, it was a good read and well paced.

“The Girl at the Lion d’Or” – perhaps this is where I felt the style of Faulks and Tagore seem to have some similarities and I liken this book to Chokher Bali  The fate of the woman protagonists in the books are well described.  Not too dramatic but yet gripping.

I just downloaded “A Possible Life” and love what I am reading in the first few pages.  It looks like a book that could be safe haven for a week or so.

 Books

 

Leave a Reply

